Printer-friendly versionPDF version
Deutsches Studentenwerk

Studentenwerke

Germany’s 58 Studentenwerke (student services organisations) are key and indispensible guarantors of the German higher education system. They offer support and advice to some 2.2 million students at more than 300 higher education institutions in around 200 locations and take care of social, economic, cultural and health matters.
Their offer:
 
  • makes a key contribution to increased equal opportunities in higher education,
     
  • helps to improve the framework conditions for studying, thereby making studying more efficient and helping higher education institutions to develop their profiles,
     
  • provides equivalent services for all students, regardless of the size, type or location of the higher education institution.

Service companies with social responsibilities

On the one hand, the Studentenwerke work in accordance with modern commercial principles including market and customer orientation, staff qualification and development schemes and quality assurance. On the other hand, they provide public benefit and welfare services provided for in the German constitution and in state legislation. This is the why the Studentenwerke also provide not-for-profit services and are able to make homogeneous service offers, even at economically unprofitable locations.

Broad service offer

Studentenwerke offer a wide range of services in the areas of university catering, accommodation, the financing of studies, child-care, advisory and counselling services, placement services and culture. The services are aimed at a diverse student body and take the needs of students with particular difficulties into account, for example students with disabilities or chronic illness, international students and students with children.

Economic factor

Due to the number of students that has increased heavily in recent years as well as new responsibilities, the Studentenwerke, in their role as production, service and administration companies, are today comparable to medium-sized or large business enterprises in terms of size. In many regions, they are a key employer and economic factor.
Seitenmenü: 
0

DruckversionPDF version
Deutsches Studentenwerk

Studentenwerke

Die bundesweit 58 Studentenwerke sind ein wesentlicher und unverzichtbarer Garant des deutschen Hochschulsystems. Sie betreuen rund 2,4 Millionen Studierende von über 300 Hochschulen an circa 200 Orten und kümmern sich um die soziale, wirtschaftliche, kulturelle und gesundheitliche Förderung.

Mit ihren Angeboten

  • leisten sie einen wesentlichen Beitrag für mehr Chancengerechtig­keit in der Hochschulbildung,
     
  • tragen sie zur Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen für das Studium und damit zur Effizienz des Studiums und zur Profilbildung der Hochschulen bei,
     
  • erbringen sie gleichwertige Angebote für Studierende, unab­hängig von der Größe der Hochschule und des Hochschulorts.

Dienstleistungsunternehmen mit ge­sellschaftlichem Auftrag

Die Studentenwerke arbeiten einerseits nach moder­nen kaufmännischen Prinzipien – hierzu gehören Markt- und Kundenorientierung, Personalqualifikation und -entwicklung sowie Qualitätssicherung. Andererseits befolgen sie den Auftrag der verfassungs­mäßig verankerten (sozial-)staatlichen Daseinsvorsorge. Daher erbringen die Studentenwerke auch Leistungen in Bereichen, die nicht profitabel sind, und ermöglichen eine nahezu gleichartige Versorgungsstruktur auch an betriebswirtschaft­lich unrentablen Standorten.

Breites Leistungsangebot

Konkret bieten die Studentenwerke ein breites Angebot in den Bereichen Hochschulgastro­nomie, Wohnen, Studienfinanzierung, Kinderbetreuung, Be­ratungs- und Vermittlungsdienste sowie Kultur. Sie richten sich an einen heterogenen Kreis von Studierenden und berücksichtigen auch die Bedarfe von Studierenden mit be­sonderen Erschwernissen, beispielsweise Studierenden mit Behinderungen und chronischer Krankheit, internationalen Studierenden sowie Stu­dierenden mit Kindern.

Wirtschaftsfaktor

Die im Laufe der vergangenen Jahre stark gestiegene Studie­rendenzahl sowie neue Aufgaben haben dazu geführt, dass die Studentenwerke als Produktions-, Dienstleistungs- und Verwal­tungsbetriebe in ihrer Größe mit mittleren beziehungsweise großen Wirt­schaftsunternehmen vergleichbar sind. In vielen Regionen sind sie ein wichtiger Arbeitgeber und Wirtschaftsfaktor.

Seitenmenü: 
0