Student finance

European Education Programmes

The new EU education programme for education, training, youth and sport Erasmus+ opens up new prospects for international mobility for the years 2014 to 2020.

Since 1 January 2014, the four following programmes have been united under the umbrella of Erasmus+:

  • Comenius (school education)
    National Agency for Comenius: Pedagogical Exchange Service (PAD)
  • ERASMUS (higher education)
    National Agency is the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
  • Leonardo da Vinci (vocational training)
    National Agency "Bildung für Europa" (Education for Europe) at the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (NA-BIBB) for Leonardo da Vinci
  • Grundtvig (adult education)
    National Agency "Bildung für Europa" at the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (NA-BIBB) for Grundtvig

With ERASMUS students can

  • receive a scholarship for a partial or practical study period (maximum one year) during the Bachelor's and (cumulatively) Master's studies in programme states.
  • also receive a scholarship for joint Master's degrees that students study at at least two universities in programme states.
  • only receive a student loan (interest) in another EU country for a complete Master's programme (lasting one or two years). A Master's programme that lasts only one year is also funded exclusively with a student loan, as the criterion "complete study" is fulfilled. For a two-year Master's programme completed entirely abroad, a split into a one-year scholarship and a one-year study loan is not possible.